Ben was born in Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire. Ben studied for his undergraduate/masters (MChem) in Chemistry at St John's College, University of Oxford. He graduated with the top First in the Honour School, winning the Gibbs Prize for examinations and the Brian Bannister Prize for his MChem thesis on oxidative cyclisation reactions. Ben remained at Oxford for his postgraduate work, with Prof. Timothy Donohoe. Ben's DPhil thesis, entitled 'Novel Palladium Catalysed Routes to Aromatic Heterocycles was passed with No Corrections and awarded a Commendation by the Division of Physical Sciences. Ben then moved to the University of Cambridge to undertake a Herchel Smith Research Fellowship with Prof. Jonathan Nitschke on the 'Post-assembly Modification of Metallosupramolecular Architectures'. Ben was subsequently awarded a Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 Research Fellowship in order to study 'Stimuli-responsive Molecular Containers'. In October 2019, Ben moved to the University of Nottingham to start his own research group as part of the Green Chemicals Beacon of Excellence. Ben's research interests span supramolecular chemistry, self-assembly, heterocyclic chemistry and catalysis.   

Ben is also a leading advocate for public engagement and outreach in chemistry. Ben is a key member of the UK Chemistry Olympiad Working Group of the RSC, helping to run the national rounds of the Chemistry Olympiad competition. Ben has been Head Mentor of the UK team at the International Final since 2011. Ben was a key founding member of the Cambridge Chemistry Challenge (C₃L₆) for lower sixth students, which he worked on until 2019. Ben also helped develop the Isaac Chemistry website and has made appearances on BBC radio's The Naked Scientist


Rising Star in Public Engagement Award Special Commendation, University of Nottingham 2020

Self-Assembly and Supramolecular Chemistry GRC Poster Prize 2017 

Global Young Scientists Summit, Singapore 2016 

Discretionary Merit Awards, University of Cambridge 2015 and 2014 

D. Phil. Thesis Commendation Division of Physical Sciences, University of Oxford 2013 

Oxford University Pfizer Poster Prize 2011 

RSC Heterocyclic and Synthesis Group Poster Prize 2011 

Syngenta Postgraduate Scholarship (ranked 1st of 15 candidates) 2011 

Salters’ Graduate Prize 2009 

Oxford University GlaxoSmithKline Award 2009 

Oxford University Brian Bannister Thesis Prize 2009  

Oxford University Gibbs Prize 2008 

Oxford University Degussa Prize 2007 

St John’s College Casberd Scholarship 2006 

Oxford University Book Prize 2006

Bronze Medal - 37th International Chemistry Olympiad 2005

ORAL PRESENTATIONS (selected and invited)

Warwick University | Coventry, UK MAR 2019

RSC Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry Meeting | Lancaster, UK DEC 2018
Durham University | Durham, UK DEC 2018
Frontiers in Chemistry | Armenia OCT 2018
256th ACS National Meeting | Boston, Massachsetts, USA AUG 2018
252nd ACS National Meeting | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA AUG 2016
15th RSC-SCI Joint Meeting on Heterocyclic Chemistry | Taormina, Italy MAY 2016
2nd Cambridge-Warsaw Young Scientists Meeting | Cambridge, UK SEP 2014
246th ACS National Meeting | Indianapolis, Indiana, USA SEP 2013
3rd Year D. Phil. Symposium | Oxford University, UK OCT 2012
RSC Heterocyclic and Synthesis Group 27th Postgraduate Symposium | GSK, Stevenage, UK SEP 2012
242nd ACS National Meeting | Denver, Colorado, USA AUG 2011


Green Chemicals Beacon Research Fellowship, University of Nottingham 2019

Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 Research Fellowship 2016 

Herchel Smith Research Fellowship, University of Cambridge 2013 

Corpus Christi College Junior Research Fellowship (declined) 2013 

St John's College, Oxford Graduate Studentship 2009